Browse by Tags

All Tags » Security (RSS)

Update re malvertizement at livejournal.com

I have been advised that the malvertizement has been removed from circulation.

Malvertizement appearing on livejournal.com

This incident has been reported to livejournal, Atlas Solutions (aka adbureau.net) aquantive and Microsoft. Here is a screenshot of the malvertizement: The malvertizement is being displayed at community.livejournal.com . (Screenshot at end of article...

New malvertizement featuring driveway.com

This malvertizement is *very* new Cite - Kimberley's site - she has all the details: http://www.bluetack.co.uk/forums/index.php?s=8085d39a6043e446198cbd9ab8234f01&showtopic=18064&st=30&p=86950&#entry86950

New malvertizement featuring WeightWatchers

Here's a screenshot - the SWF leads you to adtds2.promoplexer.com/statsa.php?campaign=bebo

Another malvertizement featuring yourmusic.com

Here's a screenshot - nothing new here... Malicious SWF URL: adroll.com/u/ads/POOPATPCXNFSNB35TZLVYO/FKM7SN4NXNAJLH75HOCZYB.swf Campaign. (Edited to correct host details) page2.googiesindication.com/crossdomain.xml Note: page2.googiesindication.com...

Another malvertizement at radiofrance.fr

Here it a screenshot of another malvertizement featuring Lady Speedstick "in situ". The URL for the malvertizement is: media.ftv-publicite.fr/0/OasDefault/2008_1349_I_1_4__Mega-RF-RG//france_728x90_LADY.swf As before, the malvertizement sends...

Malvertizement at radiofrance.fr

A French version of the Lady Speedstick malvertizement is being displayed on Radio France's web site. Here is a screenshot: This is the URL of the malvertizement: media.ftv-publicite.fr/0/OasDefault/2008_1349_I_1_3__Pave-RF-RG//france_300x250_LADY...

Alert: malvertizements targetting Macs reported at nytimes.com

As per this blog comment: http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/04/13/1584989.aspx#1585954 Which points to this dslreports forum thread: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r20328704-imunizator

Be careful at photobucket.com

"Jack" has posted a comment warning that there is a malvertizement at photobucket.com http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/03/23/1550824.aspx#1583568

usatoday.com hit by malvertizement

We've been looking for this one for a few days; Websense found it first The malvertizement in question, ebooks.com, has been mentioned on this blog several times... The malvertizement has been reported to RealMedia. Report here: http://securitylabs...

The April Security Updates have been released by Microsoft

Details here: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/ms08-apr.mspx The Cumulative Security Update for Internet Explorer is also available - details here: http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/Bulletin/MS08-024.mspx Note that this month's...

Please update Flash

A security update has been released - details here: http://www.adobe.com/support/security/bulletins/apsb08-11.html You can install the update via this URL: http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash Make sure the...

Do not click on this advertisement!

Here is a screenshot: If you click on the advertisement you may end up at a web site hosting Exploit.HTML.IframeBof and Trojan-Downloader.JS.Multi.av . We can safely view the target web page by using a web sniffer. When we do that we discover that a couple...

You have heard of bio-diversity, yes? Welcome to the brave new world of malver-diversity

Edit: Ok, I admit it, I need glasses dagnabit - super embarrassing typo fixed ... :o) I invented a new word today: malver-diversity The goal of this blog post is to highlight just how diverse a gallery of advertisements has been created by the criminals...

3 malvertizements featuring textbookx.com, free ringtones and a travel service

SWF name: 1-independent.swf Analysis http://www.adopstools.net/index.asp?page=quicklink&id=o579B3w7x6fkmk60 Associated malicious URLs: openadstream.net/crossdomain.xml openadstream.net/ad0.php?url=ads.doubleclick.net/ads/bid=28/nxtgcbb80290000125ave...

Malvertisement featuring FedEx Kinko reported to be appearing on www.diynetwork.com

This alert was sent to me via private email, by the same person who reported the latest malvertizement at 123greetings.com. It should be noted that I have not personally seen the advertisement appearing on www.diynetwork.com . The advertisement itself...

Malvertizements - cyberipod and mediaman

IMPORTANT: THE TWO ADVERTISEMENTS FEATURED BELOW WERE SHUT DOWN IN JUNE 2007. My mistake. I'll be more careful in future to ensure that reports I see are for current malvertisements. My apologies to Doubleclick. Lesson learned: previously identified...

News: Malware victim tries in vain to punish its source

It has been reported that Joseph Bochner's lawsuit against a some people allegedly behind the distribution of "Winfixer" type software has been dropped. I have correspondeded several times with Joseph over the past year or so, and am disappointed...

Yet another malicious banner advertisement at www.123greetings.com

OK, so tell me oh gentle reader... just how many "free passes" should a website get? 123greetings.com is, once again, displaying a malicious banner advertisement. This is the third incident that I have personally experienced thanks to an advertisement...

Bucksbill.com overcharging victims of fraudware

This is an update to my article written on 5 March wherein I warned that Bucksbill.com overcharging for fraudware such as "MalwareAlarm and Registry Defragmentation". It is worth pointing out that several readers have commented that they, too...
More Posts « Previous page - Next page »