A new (to me) malware spam

I haven’t seen this particular malware spam before – obviously it is not the real thing :)

Note the @nyc.gov email address.

The message path is interesting – the email *apparently* originated from nyc.gov (167.153.240.51) to be picked up by 115.240.131.132 (obbh.com - India Delhi Rcom-wireless-1x-mumbai).

Interestingly, 167.153.240.51 does, apparently, host nyc.gov as well as nycppf.org - the host resolves as prtl-drprd-web.nyc.gov.

So, are we looking at forged headers or a problem affecting nyc.gov? Note how the dates are screwy – according to the headers the mail was sent from 167.153.240.51 on 3 August but wasn’t passed on by 115.240.131.132 until the 17th of August?

The attachment is definitely bad – when unzipped the contents (a single file) has a PDF icon but is actually an EXE:
http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=03bb5be0e6d29420526eb47fbed0558a0c72a9f1b6b41d1dadd280eca4a69f1f-1313626987

image

image

image

Published Thu, Aug 18 2011 9:40 by sandi

Comments

# re: A new (to me) malware spam

Friday, August 19, 2011 2:46 PM by thomas

Curious that the nyc.gov website has no means of forwarding this spam to them, alerting them to the problem.  Guess they think...It's not THEIR problem!