Fake LinkedIn emails
They are obvious to spot, IF you know what to look for. Sadly, though, there are always new computer users who haven’t learned the hard lessons of online security.
Take a look at the fake LinkedIn email that I received a short while ago:
So, who is "journallinkedinview64678.com – check out the registrant details:
journallinkedinview64678.com
ICANN Registrar: Wild West Domains, Inc
Created 14 July 2011
Registrant:
Malena Zarasz, asfsdsatfwg@yahoo.com
Shares IP with 6,376,621 domains
Now, seriously, it takes 5 seconds to work out that the email address is fake:
“Technical details of permanent failure: Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for further information about the cause of this error. The error that the other server returned was: 554 554 delivery error: dd This user doesn't have a yahoo.com account (asfsdsatfwg@yahoo.com) [0] - mta138.mail.ac4.yahoo.com (state 18).”
My message to Wild West Domains is WAKE UP TO YOURSELVES!! Seriously. You’re accepting obviously fake Registrant email addresses?