Google Chrome leaves old versions behind when updated?
So I fire up Secunia on a PC today, and this alert appears:
But the user seems to be running the latest version:
Only one version appears in add/remove programs:
The extra folder, 220.127.116.11, is over 66 megabytes in size, and almost identical in content to 18.104.22.168.
Can the folder 22.214.171.124 be deleted safely?
Can the bad guys use the contents of the old folder 126.96.36.199 to leverage security vulnerabilities, similar to the bad old days of Sun Java, when Java would be updated but old, vulnerable, versions of the application would be left behind which could be accessed by the bad guys and any security vulnerabilities leveraged? There are various DLLs, a SETUP.EXE, and quite a few JS files in the old folder.
I’ll see what I can do about getting those questions answered.