Another two bad domains: newadsresults.com and waveadvert.com

Seen distributing malvertizing at starnewsonline.com:
http://forums.starnewsonline.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/6431032365/m/7121097019/r/9841029019

And collegehumor.com:
http://www.facebook.co.za/CollegeHumor

And tigerdroppings.com:
http://www.tigerdroppings.com/rant/messagetopic.asp?p=14780012&pg=1

And basilmarket.com (page doesn't load, but you can find it in Google cache):
http://www.basilmarket.com/forum/1184277/2

 

newadsresults.com
ICANN Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Created 21 July 2009
NS1.EVERYDNS.NET
NS2.EVERYDNS.NET

IP: 212.117.166.69 (Luxembourg, Root Esolutions)

Shares IP with two other domains, kennedales.com and waveadvert.com

Registrant:
RJ
Rita Johnson (ritaj@gmail.com)
4122082301 fax: 4122082301
101 Bellevue Road
Pittsburgh PA 15229
US

*****

kennedales.com
ICANN Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC
Created 14 August 2009
NS1.EVERYDNS.NET
NS2.EVERYDNS.NET

IP: 212.117.166.69 (Luxembourg, Root Esolutions)

Registrant:
kennedales.com
Jonathan Nelson (admin@kennedales.com)
812-750-2673 fax: 812-750-2673
1370 Heliport Loop
Bloomington IN 47404
US

*****

waveadvert.com
ICANN Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Created 4 August 2009
NS1.EVERYDNS.NET
NS2.EVERYDNS.NET

IP: 212.117.166.69 (Luxembourg, Root Esolutions)

Registrant:
Premier ANC
Linda Hogan (lindahg@yahoo.com)
6788081308 fax: 6788081308
4495 Atlanta Hwy
Atlanta GA 30052
US

Note waveadvert.com’s involvement in malvertizing incidents at blogspot.com:
http://google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=waveadvert.com/&hl=en-gb

And a problem at mangafox:
http://forums.mangafox.com/showthread.php?p=2507674

Published Thu, Sep 10 2009 10:30 by sandi
Filed under:

Comments

# re: Another two bad domains: newadsresults.com and waveadvert.com

Thursday, September 10, 2009 3:44 AM by Conrad Longmore

Umm have you actually brought this to Root Esolutions attention? It clearly breaches their AUP at www.server.lu/.../aup-english.pdf - this looks like a legitimate company rather than an RBN front.

# re: Another two bad domains: newadsresults.com and waveadvert.com

Thursday, September 10, 2009 8:35 PM by sandi

Hi Conrad,

Maybe they will, or maybe it will take a court order and a threat from the police:

"A representative of the hosting company told gulli that it received a court order to take down the sites, complete with the threat that the police would confiscate 30 servers if Root wouldn't act. Root was able to inform the owners of the sites affected before the take-down, but apparently no on acted upon the warning. Since them, some admins seem to have taken some initiative, as some of the domains redirect to new hosts, albeit without the original sites in place."

Cite: p2p-blog.com/item-1056.html

File sharing sites are also against their AUP:

""12. Breach of Copyright

The Customer is prohibited either from offering or distributing any information which is protected by copyright without lawful authority. The operating of so called P2P exchanges, download services or streaming services over which copyright protected information could be distributed without lawful authority is not permitted. It is also prohibited to make available links which connect to P2P exchanges, download services, streaming services or information provided by them.  In case of infringement root eSolutions reserves the right to remove the server from the network without prior warning and to terminate the agreement."

That being said, an email has been sent - time will tell if they will act.