ALERT: Please treat advertising from Gilmours Media (gilmoursmedia.com) with extreme caution

image
They have been caught distributing malvertizing.

Current registration details are:

ICANN Registrar: REGTIME LTD
Created 24 March 2008
NS1.NAMESELF.COM
NS2.NAMESELF.COM

IP: 64.28.187.33 - New York, Internet Path Inc

Registrant:

Jacob Tua (saidfahtih@gmail.com)
Maltiskam 12-67
Belgrade 11008
Russia
+381 113 114 094

It should be noted that gilmoursmedia.com was originally registered via the infamous ESTDOMAINS, to a "Jacob Tua" of Maltiskam 12-67, Belgrade, 11008, telephone +381.113114094.

More importantly, the email address for "Jacob Tua" was "jackyouthere@gmail.com".  See this Apple discussion forum conversation about a the clipboard hijacking problem – the same clipboard hijacking problem that led to Adobe changing the way Flash behaves:
http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=7768848

The domain being copied to clipboard via the Flash exploit was "windowsxp-privacy.net", which just so happened to be registered to, you guessed it, jackyouthere@gmail.com!! This information was posted to the discussion thread on 20 August 2008.

"Jacob Tua" was also listed as owning adclickmate.net, another domain associated with malvertizing:
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2009/02/18/1672789.aspx

The contact phone number for Gilmours Media is/was the same as that for "Trackstar Media", being tel 401.237.4731.

But the address is different, being 17 Vernon Street, Warren:
http://www.merchantcircle.com/business/Trackstarmedia.401-237-4731

 

 

 

image

 

trackstarmedia.com was suspended due to inaccurate WHOIS information.  That domain has also been featured on this blog before:
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/archive/2008/08/13/1644602.aspx 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

 image  image

image

Published Wed, May 20 2009 22:04 by sandi
Filed under: ,

Comments

# re: ALERT: Please treat advertising from Gilmours Media (gilmoursmedia.com) with extreme caution

Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:52 AM by Anon

Gotta love how they slipped in the IAB logo on that screenshot you posted.