ALERT: Malvertizement at allmusic.com and billboard.com

image

 

Note: the incident has been reported to a contact at allmusic.

Originally discovered by Kimberley.

Malicious SWF: web.checkm8.com/Ads/435513/bill_300x250-border.swf

Encrypted dynamic text within malvertisement:

image
image

 

 

 

From web.checkm8.com we hit clickmatter.net, which loads a "static.gif" which is actually an SWF.  From there I was bounced to windows-scannercenter.com to onlinetds.info and forcedscan.com.

web.checkm8.com were involved in other malvertizement outbreaks affecting allmusic:
http://msmvps.com/blogs/spywaresucks/search.aspx?q=checkm8&o=Relevance

 

checkm8.com - 65.216.116.106 - Massachusetts - Woburn - Mirror Image Internet
ICANN Registrar: Network Solutions Inc
Created: 3 July 1999
NS: DNS01.CHECKM8.COM
NS: DNS02.CHECKM8.COM

clickmatter.net - 216.195.59.78 - Oregon - Portland - Aps Telecom
ICANN Registrar: Estdomains Inc
Created 11 July 2008
NS: DNS251.3FN.NET
NS: NS2.3FN.NET

Shared IP:
1.  6incest.com
2.  Cash-traffic.com
3.  Clickmatter.net
4.  Comix6.com
5.  Delmy.com
6.  Dragondusk.net
7.  Fakerape.net
8.  Free-sex-webcams.net
9.  Freeringtonesplace.com
10. Full3gp.com
11. Happy-pearls.com
12. Hexinfo.com
13. Incest-team.com
14. Krasavcy.com
15. Listsitepro.com
16. Lyjine.com
17. Masculinaes.com
18. Mondakalendaro.org
19. Mylovegirls.com
20. Pariclub.com
21. Rusexvideo.org
22. Signweeklyhoroscopes.com
23. Sildenafilcitrato.info
24. Sis69.com
25. Sochiss.com
26. Unclezaebiz.com
27. Us-secured.com
28. Violence-action.com
29. Weatherstantion.com
30. Yadirect.com
31. Yourrealsex.com
32. Zadnic.net

windows-scannercenter.com - 83.229.251.28 - Moskva - Moscow - Mchost.ru Inc
ICANN Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS
Creatd 21 Sept 2008
NS: NS1.WINDOWS-SCANNERCENTER.COM
NS: NS2.WINDOWS-SCANNERCENTER.COM

onlinetds.info - 216.240.134.211 - California - Irvine - Go2online Corp
ICANN Registrar: Estdomains Inc
Created: 16 Sept 2008
NS: NS1.FREEFASTDNS.COM
NS: NS2.FREEFASTDNS.COM

forcedscan.com - 64.86.17.44 - Ontario - Brampton - Velcom
ICANN Registrar: Onelinenic, Inc
Created: 26 Sept 2008
NS: NS1.FREEFASTDNS.COM
NS: NS2.FREEFASTDNS.COM

3FN.NET - 64.124.84.145 - California - San Jose - Aps Communication
ICANN Registrar: Intercosmos Media Group, Inc D/B/A directnic.com
Created: 2 Sept 2002
NS: NS5.3FN.NET
NS: NS8.3FN.NET

FREEFASTDNS.COM
ICANN Registrar: Onlinenic, Inc
Registrant, "Igor Goroshko", Moscow, RU
Created 17 Sept 2008
NS: NS1.FREEFASTDNS.COM (91.203.92.47)
NS: NS2.FREEFASTDNS.COM (77.244.220.138)

NS1.FREEFASTDNS.COM (91.203.92.47) - United Kingdom Isp Uatelecom
Reverse IP: protectiononlineinfo.com

protectiononlineinfo.com - 91.203.92.47 - United Kingdom - Isp Uatelecom
ICANN Registrar: Wild West Domains Inc
Created: 8 Sept 2008
NS: NS51.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS: NS52.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

NS2.FREEFASTDNS.COM (77.244.220.138) - Russian Federation St. Petersburg Allocation For Our Customer Primenet

77.244.220.%
1.  A-vxp2008.com
2.  Anti-virus-xp.com
3.  Anti-virusxp2008.net
4.  Antivir08.com
5.  Antivirxp.net
6.  Av-xp08.net
7.  Av-xp2008.net
8.  Avx08.net
9.  Eantivirus-payment.com
10.  Xp-protector.com
11.  Xpprotector.com
12.  Youpornzztube.com
13.  Counterlog.net
14.  Dumps4your.biz
15.  Optdns.org
16.  Google-analyzing.com
17.  Besenok.net
18.  Gibrportable.net
19.  Chronotimex.com
20.  Flagclubx.com
21.  Umanoid.org
22.  X0x0l.com

Comments

# re: ALERT: Malvertizement at allmusic.com and billboard.com

Tuesday, October 21, 2008 9:38 AM by david gunnells

Saw the same thing this morning, except it was a user who visited classmates.com. :(

# re: ALERT: Malvertizement at allmusic.com and billboard.com

Wednesday, October 22, 2008 6:41 PM by DJ Allyn

Okay, I have a WP blog with Viper's Video Quicktags plugin and if I activate it and use the Flash Video (flv) it will start trying to reach http://onlinetds.info if I am trying to display any flash video from within my domain.

If I try to access an FLV file outside of my domain, it works fine.

Now today, it changed to start seeking a different domain: realtimeweb1.com.  But the IP address is still the same:

87.248.180.90

This is becoming very irritating for me.  I have identical installations on the same server under different domains and it isn't acting this way.  ONLY under this particular domain.

I have even gone as far as to create a new installation under a sub of this particular domain and it STILL seems to want to seek out this IP address.  I am using fresh installations and fresh software.

What is causing this?