Tuesday, May 20, 2008 11:30 PM sandi

OK, this is NASTY!!!!

A fraudware web site that will *not* close.

I see this:

image

I try to close using Red X, I get this:

image

I try to close using the Red X, which has always been sufficient in the past.  In this case, the dialogue box goes away but the god-damned window is still open.

So, I go have to go to Task Manager and shut down the IE window process:

image

I shut down the correct iexplorer.exe process and the window is FINALLY gone,taking along with it other Windows that were open:

image

What URLs hosted a link that led to this nasty experience (that's right, it wasn't a malvertizement).   I'm not telling because it seriously is NASTY!

So, where is "antivirus-scanner.com" hosted?  At securehost (we are not surprised, are we).

Filed under: ,

# re: OK, this is NASTY!!!!

Tuesday, May 20, 2008 6:24 PM by Doug Woodall

Ouch, I'd a been pissed if I was doing something important online when this happened.

So many ripoff site like this, sad.

# re: OK, this is NASTY!!!!

Tuesday, May 27, 2008 3:05 AM by Erik

Clicking on the red X in the dialog is equivalent to choosing Cancel, which, as the dialog clearly states, means you will stay on that page. Just press OK, ok?

# re: OK, this is NASTY!!!!

Tuesday, May 27, 2008 6:57 PM by sandi

@Erik,

Are you nuts?  By clicking on "OK" you are approving the installation of fraudware.  

Sandi

Leave a Comment

(required) 
(required) 
(optional)
(required)