New malvertizement featuring Colgate...

Here it is folks, hot off the press...

 

image   image

 

What can I say... the sheer arrogance of those behind the malvertizement is staggering - they believe that they can impersonate a multi-million dollar corporation without fear.

 

When we analyse the malvertizement we find this URL:

adtds2.promoplexer.com/statsa.php?campaign=mark

 

That URL, in turn, redirects us to:
track.trackads.net/statsa.php?campaign=mark&u=

 

The trackads.net URL loads an SWF that dumps a victim at hijack sites, including a URL at:
antispywaredeluxe.com

 

trackads.net is a new name, which Robtex reports as being hosted by "GE Medical Systems Information Technologies". 

trackads.net is registered via ESTDOMAINS.

trackads.net was created on 7 April 2008.... yep, it is that new.  It was then updated on 8 April 2008.

Trackads shares A Records and Name Servers with many interesting names, including:

aachilpavet.com; adult-amateur-porn-videos.com; adultamateurpornvideos.com; alifethatworks.com; animalgangbangs.com; annieobrien.com; ashyboy.com; assrascal.com; beautifullbutts.com; biblesbythecaselot.com; bigtitsbreasts.com; boundforwealth.com; caloffe.com; diablostocks.com; dns112.com; domix.info; dumpthedodo.com; energosnab.com; fivestarsporno.com; fscl.info; geldenfish.com; golden-retriever-puppies.com; harken-home.com; mature-sexxx.com; mikeswannmusic.com; myharleyforsale.com; nikkilopez.com; novimagem.info; plumperpictures.com; politicalbbq.com; preciousfantasia.com; searchowl-info.com; sulfiteinfo.com; tastethetoe.com; teen-sex-pages.com; thebanquetthemovie.com; thelandofmyr.com; voyah.com; ;wildwildwicks.com; womanextra.com; xxx-designer.com; zastonjserver.com

 

I also see we are being referred to a URL at:

maxconvert.com

maxconvert.com is in the Ukraine.... and shares A Records with none other than... promplexer....

 

I'm not reproducing the entire URL because, to be honest, part of the URL is encrypted and I have no idea what information may be being revealed if I make it public, so, better safe than sorry....

 

Screenshot of malvertizement web site:

image

Comments

# re: New malvertizement featuring Colgate...

Monday, April 14, 2008 3:40 PM by Alonzo

Was this up and running for a long period of time? it seems not to do its malicious stuff anymore...