Malicious advertisement source - 4cetera.com
I received new intelligence overnight about a malicious advertising campaign (that has since been shut down). I was advised that the content for the campaign in question was provided by 4cetera.com. I haven't received permission yet to link the incident with a particular website, so will simply tell you that it happened.
So, who are 4cetera.com? Well, I'm sure you won't be surprised by the ties that I am about to highlight.
4cetera.com's IP address, at time of writing, is 130.117.78.25 (Cogent).
It's WHOIS reveals that the registrar is YESNIC CO LTD.
First of all, 4cetera.com, at time of writing, share an IP address with none other than the now infamous proximogroup, a name that I am sure you all recognise.
But that is only the start of it. It's when we start digging deeper that things start getting really interesting:
http://www.robtex.com/dns/4cetera.com.html
What I have done here is simply pull names that I personally recognise as having sold, or been involved in facilitating the distribution of, malicious advertising creatives and campaigns, and the fraudware domains themselves. I *know* that my regular readers are going to recognise these names as well.
Hostnames sharing ip with a-records
proximogroup.com, adtraff.com, bucksbill.com, burnads.com, forceup.com, freetvnow.com, getfreecar.com, greyhathosting.com, netmediagroup.net, netturbopro.com, newbieadguide.com, performanceoptimizer.com, popupnukerpro.com, prizesforyou.com, traffalo.com, uniqads.com, windefender.com, workhomecentre.com, zappinads.com
Domains sharing mailservers
adtraff.com, bucksbill.com, burnads.com, forceup.com, freetvnow.com, getfreecar.com, greyhathosting.com, netmediagroup.net, netturbopro.com, newbieadguide.com, performanceoptimizer.com, popupnukerpro.com, prizesforyou.com, traffalo.com, uniqads.com, windefender.com, workhomecentre.com, zappinads.com
Domains sharing nameservers
adtraff.com, bucksbill.com, burnads.com, forceup.com, freetvnow.com, getfreecar.com, greyhathosting.com, netmediagroup.net, netturbopro.com, newbieadguide.com, performanceoptimizer.com, popupnukerpro.com, prizesforyou.com, traffalo.com, uniqads.com, windefender.com, workhomecentre.com, zappinads.com
So we see, once again, that if we do a bit of digging some familiar names appear.
My next task will be to take another look at TimeTrack Media who I mentioned on my blog the other day.