Breaking news: skyauction.com, unauthorised malicious advertisements, a fake letter of mandate.. oh my...

My regular readers may recall my recent article about emusic's claim that various advertising networks (uniqueads.com, adtraff.com and forceup.com) were fraudulently claiming to represent emusic.  Said advertising networks were apparently selling unauthorised, malicious, advertisements touting emusic.com; advertisements that hijacked users in an attempt to spread malware.

Well, I have received an email from the Chief Technology Officer at skyauction.com and he has quite a story to tell.  Here is a quote from his email - information shared with permission:

"We were contacted by another company today that were duped into hosting one of the fraudulent ads for a couple of days (which have since been taken down). It seems that the source of the ads is a company called NetMediaGroup (http://www.netmediagroup.net). They are claiming to represent us and even provided a fake letter of mandate" (which I can email you) to one of their targets saying that they represent us.  As with our logo, they were pretty sloppy creating this fake "mandate" because there are some obvious errors. In this case, someone with the pseudonym (one can only guess) of "Jim Burch" (jim@netmediagroup.net) contacted the site claiming to represent us and asking to put up ads on the contact's site. The the ads go up and deliver the fake malcious Skyauction ads until someone complains and they are finally taken down. NetMediaGroup appears at first glance to be a real company, but they are probably a completely
 fraudelent one. The domain name is registered to some organization in Germany, but the contact us phone number seems to be in the Netherlands. All of the names on the web site are just generic (i.e. they don't give full names).
"

Here is a picture of the fake letter of mandate as sent to me by skyauction.com - click on the graphic to view a full size copy:

Ok, so who are netmediagroup.net?  Let's do a Whois search (copied below) - hmm, note the email address burnads_c@yahoo.com.  Yep, that rings a bell - thinking back to the fake skyauction.com advertisement that hit soccernet.com, I remember that the name burnads appeared.  The referrer for performanceoptimizer was: burnads.com/swf/gnida.swf?campaign=flatfootup&u=23423424. That URL, when I just loaded it in my system, redirected me immediately to fraudware site.

I think it is time to get in touch with the CTO of emusic and find out what *his* story is.  The CTO of skyauction and I both believe that the best way to fight the fraudsters is to expose their activities.

Domain Name : netmediagroup.net

::Registrant::
Name      : Martin Such
Email     : burnads_c@yahoo.com
Address   : Debusweg 6-18,  Koenigstein - Falkenstein Frankfurt
Zipcode   : 61462
Nation    : DE
Tel       : +49(0)4513456
Fax       :

::Administrative Contact::
Name      : Martin Such
Email     : burnads_c@yahoo.com
Address   : Debusweg 6-18,  Koenigstein - Falkenstein Frankfurt
Zipcode   : 61462
Nation    : DE
Tel       : +49(0)4513456
Fax       :

::Technical Contact::
Name      : Martin Such
Email     : burnads_c@yahoo.com
Address   : Debusweg 6-18,  Koenigstein - Falkenstein Frankfurt
Zipcode   : 61462
Nation    : DE
Tel       : +49(0)4513456
Fax       :

::Name Servers::
ns1.netmediagroup.net
ns2.netmediagroup.net

::Dates & Status::
Created Date   2006-06-29 05:38:33 EDT
Updated Date   2007-06-27 17:59:00 EDT
Valid Date     2008-06-29 05:38:33 EDT
Status         ACTIVE

Comments

# re: Breaking news: skyauction.com, unauthorised malicious advertisements, a fake letter of mandate.. oh my...

Thursday, December 06, 2007 6:25 PM by sbsfaq

Well done Sandi - hope they appreciate you!

# re: Breaking news: skyauction.com, unauthorised malicious advertisements, a fake letter of mandate.. oh my...

Sunday, December 09, 2007 12:34 AM by Jay

These are the same people that purchased ad space on Defsounds for Flycell.com which of course turned out to be the malicious redirect ad that you all helped discover. At this point I'm not too sure if flycell had anything to with it--anyways here's how they went about it with us--We were first contacted by an

"Amber Lugano who's a supposed Media Buyer for Netmediagroup.

[ Email: amber@netmediagroup.net

MSN: gostosa.cristiano@hotmail.com]

Few days later, Jim Burch steps in claiming Amber is out on maternity leave...Jim was rather aggressive about getting this campaign up so we finally agreed to run them in the footer..I contacted Jim about the malware and he didnt seem to be surprised about it, said he'll get back to us when they track down how it got into the banner..needless to say I haven't heard from him since.

# re: Breaking news: skyauction.com, unauthorised malicious advertisements, a fake letter of mandate.. oh my...

Friday, January 18, 2008 5:12 AM by Laila

Is www.freelotto.com also doing the same thing? do u have partnership with them or are they scaming people, coz i received a certificate from them giving $50 discount if i traveled with u.