soccernet.com hit by malware

My cell phone rang a few minutes ago to warn me that soccernet.com has been hit by malware - again, it is a Skyauction.com advertisement (similar to the one that hit Sensis not that long ago) that is the malicious party.

Let's have a look at what happens this time - as always the network capture is available for review by the appropriate authorities.  Screenshots of the malicious advertisement are at the end of this article.

We start here:
soccernet.espn.go.com/?cc=3436

The above page has an advertisement in the top right hand corner. That advertisement is:

a1767.g.akamai.net/v/1767/18689/7d/img-dc2.adtech.de/apps/162/Ad1600674St3Sz225Sq1148279V0Id1/468x60.swf

That SWF hijacks visitors to soccernet.com, and forces them to performanceoptimizer.com.  As always, the performanceoptimizer site throws up fake alerts etc etc etc.

This time there is no sign of prevedmarketing.  Instead, we see burnads and adtech.de, specifically:

burnads.com/swf/gnida.swf?campaign=flatfootup&u=23423424

ad.dc2.adtech.de/addyn%7C3.0%7C605%7C1181102%7C0%7C225%7CADTECH;loc=100;target=_blank;key=soccernet+index+AUS;kvsection=soccernet;kvpagetype=index;kvcc=AUS;grp=6644402;misc=1196658487765

ad.dc2.adtech.de/addyn%7C3.0%7C605%7C1181102%7C0%7C225%7CADTECH;loc=100;target=_blank;key=soccernet+index+AUS;kvsection=soccernet;kvpagetype=index;kvcc=AUS;grp=6644402;misc=1196658487765

We also see:

blessedads.com/?cmpid=flatfootup&adid=468

Before we finally end up at:

performanceoptimizer.com/.landing/index.php?cmp=tmsmsposl&poa=flatfootup&pol=468&apo=1&epo=1&edpo=2&mt_info=5010_3112_2759

The referrer for performanceoptimizer is: burnads.com/swf/gnida.swf?campaign=flatfootup&u=23423424

 

Published Mon, Dec 3 2007 14:25 by sandi

Comments

# re: soccernet.com hit by malware

Monday, December 03, 2007 4:47 PM by Owen

It happened to me and I tried to download the malware to my Mac. I thought it didn't work but now I'm not sure.

What should I do?

# re: soccernet.com hit by malware

Tuesday, December 04, 2007 6:16 AM by sandi

I have spent little time on the MAC.  I truly hate how they don't let you "build your own PC".  It has been a long time since I bought a PC "off the shelf".

I have to ask, only half in jest, is there an antivirus/antimalware/antispyware product for the MAC?  

At the moment, and I STRONGLY EMPHASISE that it is only at the moment, the bad guys behind these ads have not coded them so that they offer MAC specific malware (as far as I know), but it is only a matter of time until they start doing so.  When that happens, watch out.

It is only a tiny step from fake video codecs to fake security software.

# re: soccernet.com hit by malware

Wednesday, January 02, 2008 11:31 AM by Chris

I experienced the same thing at email.excite.com........

Same banner, same destination - gnida.swf at burnads

# re: soccernet.com hit by malware

Wednesday, January 02, 2008 7:32 PM by sandi

So I see.... I have the proof and will post later today.

Sandi