Business Fraud Alert!
A few months agao, I contracted a “company” that goes by the name “Iconic Media” through http://www.guru.com to design a new site for an eCommerce project of mine which was to be launched at http://www.xambi.com. A woman named Shayna McCollough was the one and only person from this outfit with whom I have dealt with. After paying her $2000.00 and investing significant amounts of time in waiting for a design, she finally delivered what I initially believed to be a decent design. After having a few peers review the design, it was brought to my attention that the design was an exact rip-off of http://www.creative.com. When approached about this flagrant theft, Ms. McCollough mysteriously disappeared and has not been heard from since.
Please be aware that this work was contracted through Guru.com which portrays itself as a safe intermediary between companies and contractors, yet has done absolutely nothing to help us resolve this situation.
At all costs, please avoid using this company and if you are so inclined, drop Ms. McCollough an email of better yet, a phone call and let her know what you think of her dishonest, if not criminal acts. Here is all the info I have:
http://www.iconic.cc
Shayna McCollough
smccullough@iconic.cc
Phone: (727) 507-0424
Fax: (310) 388-5747
A whois search turned this up:
Registrant:
Iconic, Inc.
468 N. Camden Drive, Suite 200
Beverly Hills, California 90210
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: ICONIC.CC
Created on: 26-Oct-03
Expires on: 26-Oct-05
Last Updated on: 19-Oct-04
Administrative Contact:
Manager, Domain info@gmi.cc
Iconic, Inc.
468 N. Camden Drive, Suite 200
Beverly Hills, California 90210
United States
8882888135 Fax -- 8882888135
Technical Contact:
Manager, Domain info@gmi.cc
Iconic, Inc.
468 N. Camden Drive, Suite 200
Beverly Hills, California 90210
United States
8882888135 Fax -- 8882888135
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.IDX.NET
NS2.IDX.NET
A google search on that address revealed a plethora of businesses using the same address, which would seem to suggest that it is a mail drop of some sort.
A State of California Corporate Search turned this up:
|
Corporation |
|
GEMINI MEDIA, INC. |
|
Number: C2390033 |
Date Filed: 2/4/2002 |
Status: suspended |
|
Jurisdiction: California |
|
Address |
|
6176 PERWINKLE WAY |
|
WOODLAND HILLS, CA 91367 |
|
Agent for Service of Process |
|
SCOTT C LONIS |
|
6176 PERWINKLE WAY |
|
WOODLAND HILLS, CA 91360 |
Lastly, if you are an attorney, know an attorney, or have contacts in law enforcement, please send their info on to me as I can use all the help I can get in working this out.
Thanks!
UPDATE:
Here are some image links:
A snaphot of each site:
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_Full1.png
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_Full2.png
The Header of each site up close:
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_Header.png
The footers:
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_Footers.gif
Left Nav:
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_LeftNav.png
Lower portion of left nav:
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_LeftNav2.png
Page Headers:
http://msmvps.com/images/msmvps_com/michael/1069/o_PageHeaders.png
Also, you should know that the differences you do see between these designs is in every case, a result of my feedback to them during the process. Of course at that time, I had no idea the design had been stolen from Creative...