<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="http://msmvps.com/utility/FeedStylesheets/rss.xsl" media="screen"?><rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/" xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"><channel><title>Hosts News : Overture</title><link>http://msmvps.com/blogs/hostsnews/archive/tags/Overture/default.aspx</link><description>Tags: Overture</description><dc:language>en</dc:language><generator>CommunityServer 2008.5 SP2 (Build: 40407.4157)</generator><item><title>Advertisers and Domain Parking</title><link>http://msmvps.com/blogs/hostsnews/archive/2007/08/13/advertisers-and-domain-parking.aspx</link><pubDate>Mon, 13 Aug 2007 08:32:00 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d67277c4-116b-43f1-b688-e9ef184ea916:1108559</guid><dc:creator>winhelp2002</dc:creator><slash:comments>0</slash:comments><comments>http://msmvps.com/blogs/hostsnews/archive/2007/08/13/advertisers-and-domain-parking.aspx#comments</comments><description>&lt;p&gt;Landing on &amp;quot;militarymoms.eu&amp;quot; a &amp;quot;&lt;a class="" title="Wikipedia description of Domain Parking" href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_parking" target="_blank"&gt;Parked Domain&lt;/a&gt;&amp;quot;, where the clicks are controled by Overture (Yahoo Advertising) and as you can see below the link routes you to a known Malware infection (Trojan.Codec)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img style="WIDTH:598px;HEIGHT:323px;" height="323" src="http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/blog/overture1.gif" width="598" border="1" alt="" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It appears that Yahoo has failed to keep an eye on what some of these underhanded Domain Parkers are doing. Redirecting clicks (Pay-per-Click) just for the sake of a few cents is not new, but let&amp;#39;s hope they get better control over those using their services. This is not the first time I have blogged about &amp;quot;free3xmovies&amp;quot;, where &lt;a class="" href="http://msmvps.com/blogs/hostsnews/archive/2007/07/24/clickzs-promoting-malware.aspx" target="_blank"&gt;Clickz&lt;/a&gt; are promoting the same Malware site. It&amp;#39;s all about the $$$ folks no matter how they get it ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Luckly I have &lt;strong&gt;*.overture.com&lt;/strong&gt; listed (recommended) in the Internet Explorer &lt;a class="" href="http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/restricted.htm" target="_blank"&gt;Restricted Zone&lt;/a&gt;, so I get a prompt before the redirect is completed. This way I can see where the click is going and clicking &lt;strong&gt;No&lt;/strong&gt; kills the connection.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img src="http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/blog/overture.gif" alt="" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;img style="WIDTH:509px;HEIGHT:383px;" height="383" src="http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/blog/overture2.gif" width="509" border="1" alt="" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;DANGEROUS&lt;/strong&gt;: &lt;a class="" href="http://linkscanner.explabs.com/linkscanner/" target="_blank"&gt;LinkScanner Online has found&lt;/a&gt; &lt;br /&gt;[Trojan Fake Codec]&lt;br /&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;em&gt;Detail:&amp;nbsp; Exploit: Trojan Fake Codec &lt;br /&gt;&amp;nbsp; This appears to be a fake codec. An increasingly common ploy is to offer to play a free video, and then to tell you that your computer cannot display the video, and needs a new codec, and &amp;quot;Click here for the new codec&amp;quot;. The victim is prompted to install the codec, and sometimes gets to see the video, and sometimes doesn&amp;#39;t, and usually is able to uninstall the &amp;quot;codec&amp;quot;. What the victim doesn&amp;#39;t realize is that it usually leaves behind a rootkit.&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;McAfee&amp;#39;s &lt;a class="" href="http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/free3xmovies.com/summary/" target="_blank"&gt;SiteAdvisor &lt;/a&gt;states basically the same with a little more detail ... &amp;quot;rc23.overture.com&amp;quot; will be added to the next HOSTS file update. Now just to be fair I should point out that Google Adsense is also involved, but as you can see above (highlighted in red) that entry is already blocked.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://msmvps.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=1108559" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description><category domain="http://msmvps.com/blogs/hostsnews/archive/tags/Overture/default.aspx">Overture</category></item></channel></rss>