Sex , Lies , and Toolbars
This is a good one to start off the New Year ... landing on the below site I was prompted with the following message ... now being the skeptic I am ... I figured this was a new tactic to get the visitor to install a Trojan.Codec type of file ... much to my surprise I was fooled ...

Once you "click here to download one" you are redirected quite a few times ... this is hard to follow ... but here goes:
hxxp://affiliates.millnicmedia.com/sw/14604/CD8129/ (affiliates.millnicmedia.com = Digital River)
hxxp://nbjmp.com/click/?s=5015&c=45863&subid=CD8129 (nbjump.com = NeverBlue Media)
(nbjmp.com = Rated Red site via McAfee SiteAdvisor)
hxxp://lwken.com/click/?s=5015&c=45863&subid=CD8129 (lwken.com = NeverBlue Media) also set a 3rd party Cookie
hxxp://1.globalonlineweb.com/ct/1-14-0/?psid=9273 (also set a 3rd party Cookie)
hxxp://www.vivo7.com/pop/?pid=CD7&cid=866&bid=8320&deploy_id=0&landing_id=0&pool=0&sid=&psid=9273
hxxp://partners.dmoglobal.com/sw/8320/CD7/&dp=0&l=0&p=0&psid=9273 (sets 3rd party Cookie for directtrack.com)
(directtrack.com = Digital River) ... ever though you never visited directtrack ... imagine that = cookie stuffing)
hxxp://1.ofsnetwork.com/sw/32931/CD7246/&dp=0&l=0&subid1=CD7&subid2=&subid3=&subid4=&subid5=&&psid=9273&
hxxp://ourfreestuff.net/sw/32931/CD7246/&dp=0&l=0&subid1=CD7&subid2=&subid3=&subid4=&subid5=&&psid=9273&
(ourfreestuff.net = running on the Digital River server) owned by "Canadawebhosting"
Where you eventually end up here ... (translated via Google)

So where is my Toolbar? ... this looks like another scam to get your email address ... but I filled it out (bogus info) and all this does is send you to yet another survey type site that wants even more personal info ... "So where is my Toolbar?" ... I never saw any mention of that ... or why I had to divulge my personal info ...
Remember Canadawebhosting ... imagine that ... looks like Digital River is up to something shady? The Internet is full of complaints about Digital River and their many questionable Affiliates ...
# [Canadawebhosting][64.34.132.0 - 64.34.132.255]
127.0.0.1 echtegratisproben.de
127.0.0.1 1.ofsnetwork.com
127.0.0.1 temp.ourfreestuff.net
Now just to show you that this was not a one-time occurrence ... this is a hard-core adult site, that clicking any image results in routing you thru the same mess as I described above ...

Be careful out there Folks ... looks like even the 3rd party affiliates want to get in one the amount of traffic generated thru adult sites ... although in this case there actually is no "adult" ... just Sex , Lies , and Toolbars ...