Yahoo hosting Fraudware on their servers

While tracking down several new fake Antispyware sites ... I happened to notice the below are all hosted by Yahoo.

# [Yahoo via various][68.180.128.0 - 68.180.255.255]
68.180.151.16  antivirus-2008.org
68.180.151.17  antivirus-2008-noadware.com #[Win32/Adware.PowerAntivirus]
68.180.151.16  bestantivirus2009.com #[Win32/Adware.PowerAntivirus]
68.180.151.18  officialantiviruslab.com #[Win32/Kryptik.E]
68.180.151.18  onlineantivirus2009.com #[Win32/Kryptik.E]

VirusTotal result for the download from "antivirus-2008.org" [here]
MY AV (NOD32 v3) detects the downloads from the other sites as either "Win32/Adware.PowerAntivirus" or "Win32/Kryptik.E"

As you can see the above is a typical fraudulent fake Antispyware that attempts to infect your machine ... nothing new there ... but hosted at Yahoo? Makes you wonder who's asleep at the wheel over there? ...

These all fall within the IP block assigned to Yahoo (68.180.128.0 - 68.180.255.255)
The above sites all have the same "page title" (International Virus Research Lab) and contents, etc ...

Published Wed, Sep 3 2008 2:40 by winhelp2002
Filed under: