Rogue Antispyware Adware-Download

Following up on a post at Donna's SecurityFlash regarding several new Rogue Antispyware programs ...
now visiting the named site (adware-download(dot)com) you are redirected via "clickbank" to ... oops!

My AV NOD32 intercepts the request and displays the above warning ... thus killing the connection.
And this occurs prior to the browser checking the HOSTS file ... which adware-download is already listed.

The actual link via clickbank is below (URL disabled)

hxxp://freewslink.adalert.hop.clickbank.net/hop/?CBRehoppp2=hxxp%3A%2F%2Fwww.adwarealert.com%2Findex.php%3Fhop%3Dfreewslink&vend=adalert&code=00000000000000&affi=freewslink&parms=&key=F14F7E2F6AB3619C0D5FE930AAD751A6

I complained to the staff at ClickBank many many times about their lack of policing their affiliates ... but they appear to take no action ... thus they have become a haven for these Rogue Antispyware programs ... and there are many! I've even had them complain and threaten legal action because I added them to the HOSTS file ... of course they have no grounds for such an action ...

Adware.Clickbank or Adware.ClickDLoader

Published Thu, Aug 7 2008 5:05 by winhelp2002