[There's a reason that Yoda is the unofficial mascot of SBS.  Size indeed matters not.] Mail servers.. Speak English please! - THE OFFICIAL BLOG OF THE SBS "DIVA"
Sun, Apr 6 2008 21:33 bradley

Mail servers.. Speak English please!

Dear mail servers of the world.... SPEAK ENGLISH and give me readable, actionable error messages please!

554 5.7.1 This message has been blocked because it is from a DNSBL/ORDBL IP address.(connection black ip 65.99.255.140)
I checked.  No it's not.  http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=65.99.255.140
In the mean time my personal email address of pacbell.net that 
I've used for eons apparently is not letting people email to me. Sorry about that
and I don't know how to fix that either.
There are some days that I think passenger pigeon delivery may be easier.
P.S. I "am" the admin of that server though.  (or do you mean the admin of the person I'm trying to email?...see this needs to be made clearer)
Filed under:

# re: Mail servers.. Speak English please!

Monday, April 07, 2008 12:32 AM by Lawrence Hsu

t is not your fault the ip address were on spam list:

www.itwire.com/.../53

it is the laz admin.

Lawrence

# re: Mail servers.. Speak English please!

Monday, April 07, 2008 3:57 AM by Vlad Mazek

Ummm... I blogged about this a little while ago, ORDB is dead, has been for 2+ years. The admins brought it back just to stop people from pounding it still and blacklisted everything.

The fact that there is anyone out there still using it means they are not receiving email AT ALL so that speaks volumes.

-Vlad

# re: Mail servers.. Speak English please!

Monday, April 07, 2008 4:53 AM by Richard

We had a problem recently where an old blacklist - relays.ordb.org - was returning positive answers for all addresses.  I think the owners of that domain want to switch their server off, and are forcing people to do something.  If they are referring to an ORDBL, then it seems likely that they're still trying to use ordb...

# re: Mail servers.. Speak English please!

Monday, April 07, 2008 11:17 AM by Graeme Smith

The alternative offered by SpamCop is to PAY for them to lift you off their lists so your mail will get through again.  A quick call from my client's attorney using the words "strong arm tactics", "blackmail" and "see you in court" solved it in that case.

Unfortunatly there are so many blacklists downstream that are based on SpamCop's lists that it can take a while for them to update.

# re: Mail servers.. Speak English please!

Wednesday, April 09, 2008 5:53 PM by Nick

ATT as a whole (pacbell.net, sbcglobal.net etc...) has recently gotten a little overly aggresive with their security as well. It's helping to give people reason to switch to a good mail host or pushing them over the fence on a SBS purchase, but causing a lot of drama for us at the same time.